10 Sep 2015
Left to right: Prof Peter Wheeler (Chairman, NEZS), Dr Simon Stuart, His Grace the Duke of Westminster (President, NEZS), Dr Mark Pilgrim (Director General)

Since its inception in 1994, the Gold Medal has been bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievements in the fields of natural science, conservation and the environment. 

Previous recipients have included Sir David Attenborough, Dr Jane Goodall as well as former Chester Zoo Director, Dr Michael Brambell, and former Director General, Prof Gordon McGregor Reid. 

Dr Stuart has carried out incredible work over the last 30 years in the conservation of wildlife globally. The award, which was presented by His Grace the Duke of Westminster who is the president of the zoo, was in recognition of Dr Stuart’s outstanding lifetime achievements in global species conservation.

Dr Mark Pilgrim, Director General of the zoo, said:

It was an honour to host the Gold Medal award ceremony for Simon who has done incredible work over the course of his career. He continues to make a difference as the chair of the IUCN Species Survival Commission and is an esteemed friend of Chester Zoo.